how many horses are racing in the preakness

In the highly anticipated Preakness Stakes, a field of ten spirited steeds will vie for the coveted crown. Each horse represents a unique blend of speed, stamina, and determination, promising an exhilarating spectacle for racing enthusiasts. From the early morning preparations to the thunderous roar of the starting gate, the anticipation will build as these noble animals prepare to showcase their athleticism and grace on the legendary track.

Field Size

The 2023 Preakness Stakes will feature a field of 10 horses, which is the maximum number of horses allowed to run in the race.


  • Epicenter: The Kentucky Derby winner is the morning-line favorite for the Preakness.
  • Creative Minister: The runner-up in the Kentucky Derby is the second choice in the Preakness.
  • Simplification: The Florida Derby winner is the third choice in the Preakness.
  • Happy Jack: The Wood Memorial winner is the fourth choice in the Preakness.
  • Armagnac: The Blue Grass Stakes winner is the fifth choice in the Preakness.
  • Early Voting: The Preakness Stakes is the third leg of the Triple Crown.
  • Fenwick: The Peter Pan Stakes winner is the seventh choice in the Preakness.
  • Secret Oath: The Kentucky Oaks winner is the eighth choice in the Preakness.
  • Skippylongstocking: The Lexington Stakes winner is the ninth choice in the Preakness.
  • Venus de Milo: The Gazelle Stakes winner is the tenth choice in the Preakness.
HorseTrainerJockeyMorning Line Odds
EpicenterSteve AsmussenJoel Rosario8-5
Creative MinisterKenny McPeekBrian Hernandez Jr.5-2
SimplificationAntonio SanoJohn Velazquez9-2
Happy JackDoug O’NeillMike Smith6-1
ArmagnacBrad CoxFlorent Geroux10-1
Early VotingChad BrownJose Ortiz12-1
FenwickMike MakerDavid Cohen20-1
Secret OathD. Wayne LukasLuis Saez20-1
SkippylongstockingSaffie Joseph Jr.Tyler Gaffalione30-1
Venus de MiloBob BaffertJohn Velazquez50-1

Preakness Stakes Contenders

The Preakness Stakes, the second leg of the Triple Crown, is set to take place on Saturday, May 20, 2023, at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. A field of 10 horses is expected to compete in the 1 3/16-mile race.

  • Epicenter: The Kentucky Derby winner and current favorite for the Preakness.
  • Simplification: The Florida Derby winner who finished second in the Kentucky Derby.
  • Creative Minister: The Wood Memorial winner who finished third in the Kentucky Derby.
  • Early Voting: The Preakness Stakes favorite who finished fourth in the Kentucky Derby.
  • Armagnac: The Blue Grass Stakes winner who finished fifth in the Kentucky Derby.
  • Secret Oath: The Kentucky Oaks winner who is the only filly in the Preakness field.
  • Happy Jack: The Peter Pan Stakes winner who finished seventh in the Kentucky Derby.
  • Skippylongstocking: The Withers Stakes winner who finished ninth in the Kentucky Derby.
  • Fenwick: The Lexington Stakes winner who finished 10th in the Kentucky Derby.
  • Un Ojo: The Santa Anita Derby winner who finished 11th in the Kentucky Derby.

The Preakness Stakes is one of the most prestigious races in American horse racing. It is the second leg of the Triple Crown, which also includes the Kentucky Derby and the Belmont Stakes. The winner of the Preakness Stakes receives a prize of $1 million.

EpicenterSteve AsmussenJoel Rosario9/5
SimplificationAntonio SanoJohn Velazquez5/2
Creative MinisterKenny McPeekBrian Hernandez Jr.9/2
Early VotingChad BrownJosé Ortiz5/1
ArmagnacTodd PletcherIrad Ortiz Jr.10/1
Secret OathD. Wayne LukasLuis Saez12/1
Happy JackDoug O’NeillMario Gutierrez15/1
SkippylongstockingSaffie Joseph Jr.Paco Lopez20/1
FenwickJohn SherriffsUmberto Rispoli30/1
Un OjoRichard MandellaMike Smith50/1

The Preakness: A Field of Contenders

The Preakness Stakes is the second leg of the Triple Crown, a prestigious series of horse races in the United States. This year, 10 horses are set to compete in the Preakness, each with their own unique strengths and weaknesses.

Impact of Previous Races

  • Kentucky Derby: The Kentucky Derby is the first leg of the Triple Crown, and it can have a significant impact on the Preakness. Horses that finish well in the Derby are often considered to be the favorites in the Preakness. This year, Epicenter, who won the Kentucky Derby, is the morning-line favorite for the Preakness.
  • Other Preps: In addition to the Kentucky Derby, there are several other prep races that can help horses prepare for the Preakness. The Wood Memorial, the Blue Grass Stakes, and the Santa Anita Derby are all considered to be important prep races for the Preakness.

The Field

EpicenterJoel RosarioSteve Asmussen9-5
Early VotingJose OrtizChad Brown5-1
SimplificationJohn VelazquezAntonio Sano6-1
Creative MinisterBrian Hernandez Jr.Kenny McPeek8-1
Secret OathLuis SaezD. Wayne Lukas10-1
ArmagnacIrad Ortiz Jr.Todd Pletcher12-1
FenwickFlorent GerouxIan Wilkes15-1
Happy JackKendrick CarmoucheDoug O’Neill20-1
SkippylongstockingPaco LopezSaffie Joseph Jr.30-1
Un OjoJunior AlvaradoRicky Courville50-1

Factors Influencing Field Size

The number of horses competing in the Preakness Stakes varies from year to year, and several factors can influence the field size:

  • Kentucky Derby Performance: The Preakness is the second leg of the Triple Crown, and horses that perform well in the Kentucky Derby tend to enter the Preakness. If multiple Derby contenders are in contention, it can lead to a large field.
  • Injuries and Form: Injuries or subpar performances following the Kentucky Derby can sideline potential Preakness entries, reducing the field size.
  • Trainer and Owner Preferences: Some trainers and owners may choose to skip the Preakness to rest their horses or focus on other races. This can impact the number of horses in the field.
  • Field Restrictions: The Preakness has a limited field size of 14 horses. If more horses are entered than can fit, a selection process is used to determine the final field.

In recent years, the Preakness field size has typically ranged from 8 to 12 horses. The largest field in the modern era was in 2001, with 14 horses competing.

Preakness Stakes Field Size from 2018-2022
YearField Size

Well there you have it, folks! Now you know the answer to the burning question of how many horses are racing in this year’s Preakness. Thanks for sticking with me through all the details. I hope it was an informative and enjoyable read. Make sure to check back later for more updates and insights into the world of horse racing. In the meantime, feel free to share this article with your fellow horse enthusiasts, or anyone else who might be curious about the Preakness.