how many triple crown winners are there in horse racing

## How many ears are there in horses?

Horses have two ears, one on each side of their head.

Triple Crown Winners in Horse Racing

The Triple Crown is the ultimate achievement in horse racing. It is awarded to a horse that wins three races: the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes. Only 13 horses have ever won the Triple Crown.

Notable Triple Crown Winners

  • Sir Barton (1919)
  • Gallant Fox (1930)
  • Omaha (1935)
  • War Admiral (1937)
  • Assault (1946)
  • Citation (1948)
  • Secretariat (1973)
  • Seattle Slew (1977)
  • Affirmed (1978)
  • American Pharoah (2015)
  • Justify (2018)
  • California Chrome (2014)
  • Big Brown (2008)

The Triple Crown is a grueling test of a horse’s speed, stamina, and heart. It is a rare and special achievement that is celebrated by horse racing fans around the world.

Triple Crown Winners by Year

1919Sir Barton
1930Gallant Fox
1937War Admiral
1977Seattle Slew
2015American Pharoah
2014California Chrome
2008Big Brown

The Elusive Triple Crown

The Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing is one of the most prestigious and challenging achievements in all of sports. To win the Triple Crown, a horse must win the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes in that order. Only 13 horses have ever accomplished this feat.

The first Triple Crown winner was Sir Barton in 1919. Since then, there have been several horses who have come close to winning the Triple Crown, but only 12 have been able to pull it off. The most recent Triple Crown winner was Justify in 2018.

Why is the Triple Crown so difficult to win?

There are several reasons why the Triple Crown is so difficult to win. First, the three races are all run at different distances and on different tracks. The Kentucky Derby is run at 1 1/4 miles on a dirt track, the Preakness Stakes is run at 1 3/16 miles on dirt, and the Belmont Stakes is run at 1 1/2 miles on a dirt track.

Second, the Triple Crown is run over a short period of time. The Kentucky Derby is run on the first Saturday in May, the Preakness Stakes is run two weeks later, and the Belmont Stakes is run three weeks after that. This means that horses have very little time to recover between races.

Finally, the Triple Crown is run against some of the best horses in the world. The Kentucky Derby is the most attended horse race in the world, and the Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes are also two of the most prestigious races in the world.

The Triple Crown Winners

  • Sir Barton (1919)
  • Man o’ War (1920)
  • Gallant Fox (1930)
  • Omaha (1935)
  • War Admiral (1937)
  • Whirlaway (1941)
  • Count Fleet (1943)
  • Assault (1946)
  • Citation (1948)
  • Secretariat (1973)
  • Seattle Slew (1977)
  • Affirmed (1978)
  • Justify (2018)
Sir Barton1919
Man o’ War1920
Gallant Fox1930
War Admiral1937
Count Fleet1943
Seattle Slew1977

Triple Crown Winners in Horse Racing

The Triple Crown is a prestigious achievement in the world of horse racing, awarded to a horse that wins three specific races in a single year. These races are:

  • Kentucky Derby: Held annually at Churchill Downs, Kentucky, since 1875.
  • Preakness Stakes: Run at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland, since 1873.
  • Belmont Stakes: The oldest of the three races, held at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York, since 1867.

Winning the Triple Crown is an incredibly rare feat, requiring a horse to possess exceptional speed, endurance, and determination. Only 13 horses have achieved this honor since the first Triple Crown winner, Sir Barton, in 1919.

Impact on Horse Racing History

Triple Crown winners have a lasting impact on the history of horse racing. They inspire awe and admiration from fans and create unforgettable moments in the sport. The following are some of the ways in which Triple Crown winners have shaped racing history:

  • Legacy and Prestige: Triple Crown winners become legends in the sport, their names forever etched in the annals of racing history.
  • Increased Interest and Popularity: The excitement surrounding a Triple Crown chase captivates the attention of racing enthusiasts and casual fans alike, bringing new viewers to the sport.
  • Breeding and Bloodlines: Triple Crown winners are often highly sought after for breeding purposes, passing on their exceptional qualities to future generations of Thoroughbreds.

The Triple Crown winners are a testament to the brilliance of the Thoroughbred breed and the skill of the horsemen who train and care for them. These horses have left an indelible mark on the sport, forever inspiring fans and shaping the legacy of horse racing.

List of Triple Crown Winners

1919Sir BartonJohnny LoftusH. Guy Bedwell
1930Gallant FoxEarl SandeJim Fitzsimmons
1935OmahaWendell EstepWilliam Hirsch
1937War AdmiralCharley KurtsingerGeorge Conway
1941WhirlawayEddie ArcaroBen Jones
1943Count FleetJohnny LongdenDon Cameron
1946AssaultWarren MehrtensMax Hirsch
1948CitationEddie ArcaroBen Jones
1973SecretariatRon TurcotteLucien Laurin
1977Seattle SlewJean CruguetWilliam Turner
1978AffirmedSteve CauthenLaz Barrera
1997Seattle StarGary StevensNeil Drysdale
2015American PharoahVictor EspinozaBob Baffert

Well, folks, there you have it. The crème de la crème of horse racing: the elusive Triple Crown winners. These extraordinary steeds have etched their names into the annals of history, forever inspiring awe and wonder in the hearts of racing enthusiasts. From Seattle Slew to Justify, each winner has left an unforgettable mark on the sport.

As you head off to the track or curl up with your favorite horse racing book, remember the incredible feats of these champions. Their determination, athleticism, and unwavering spirit are a testament to the beauty and majesty of the sport.

Thanks for joining me on this Triple Crown adventure. Be sure to visit again soon for more exciting horse racing stories and insights. Until next time, keep your eyes on the prize and may the best horse win!