what are the big horse racing events

Major horse racing events are prestigious competitions that attract elite horses, jockeys, and trainers from around the world. These events showcase the sport’s finest athletes and offer substantial prize money. Some of the most renowned races include the Triple Crown series in the United States, which consists of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes. Other notable events include the Royal Ascot in the United Kingdom, the Dubai World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, and the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe in France. These races not only test the limits of the horses but also provide opportunities for spectators to witness exceptional horse racing and experience the thrill of the sport.

The Kentucky Derby

The Kentucky Derby is one of the most prestigious horse races in the world. It is run annually at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky, and is known as the “Run for the Roses” because the winner is draped in a blanket of red roses.

  • The Kentucky Derby is a Grade I stakes race for three-year-old Thoroughbreds.
  • The race is run on the first Saturday in May at Churchill Downs.
  • The Kentucky Derby is 1 1/4 miles long.
  • The purse for the Kentucky Derby is $3 million.

The Kentucky Derby is a major event in the American sports calendar. It attracts a large crowd of spectators each year, and is broadcast live on television around the world.

Some of the most famous winners of the Kentucky Derby include:

  • Secretariat (1973)
  • Seattle Slew (1977)
  • Affirmed (1978)
  • American Pharoah (2015)

The Kentucky Derby is a truly iconic event in the world of horse racing. It is a race that is steeped in history and tradition, and it continues to capture the imagination of fans around the world.

Kentucky Derby Winners
2022Rich StrikeSonny LeonEric Reed
2021MandalounFlorent GerouxBrad Cox
2020AuthenticJohn VelazquezBob Baffert
2019Country HouseMike SmithBill Mott

Preakness Stakes

The Preakness Stakes, also known as “The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans,” is the second leg of the American Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing. Run annually since 1873, it is held on the third Saturday in May at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland.

  • The Preakness Stakes is a Grade I stakes race for three-year-old Thoroughbred horses.
  • The race distance is 1 3/16 miles (2,012 meters)
  • The purse for the 2023 Preakness Stakes is $1 million.

The Preakness Stakes is considered one of the most prestigious horse races in the world. It is known for its exciting and competitive finishes, and it has produced some of the sport’s most iconic moments.

Preakness Stakes Winners
2022Early VotingJosé OrtizChad Brown
2021RombauerFlavien PratMichael McCarthy
2020Swiss SkydiverRobby AlbaradoKen McPeek

Belmont Stakes

The Belmont Stakes is the third leg of the Triple Crown, and it offers a $1.5 million purse. It’s known as the “Test of the Champion” because it’s one of the most challenging races in the world.

The race is held annually at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York. It’s open to three-year-old Thoroughbreds, and it’s 1 1/2 miles long. The race is run on a dirt track, and it’s one of the most grueling races in the country.

The 2023 Belmont Stakes will be held on Saturday, June 10th. The race will start at 5:46 p.m. ET, and the field of horses will be announced in the coming weeks.

Here are some of the most famous winners of the Belmont Stakes:

  • Secretariat (1973)
  • Affirmed (1978)
  • Seattle Slew (1977)
  • American Pharoah (2015)
  • Justify (2018)

The Belmont Stakes is one of the most prestigious races in the world, and it’s a must-see for any horse racing fan.

The Breeders’ Cup

The Breeders’ Cup is an annual 2-day event featuring 14 races for thoroughbred horses and foals. It is considered the most prestigious horse racing event in North America and one of the most prestigious in the world. The races are held at different tracks each year, and the total prize money for the event is over $30 million.

Races at the Breeders’ Cup

  • Breeders’ Cup Classic
  • Breeders’ Cup Distaff
  • Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint
  • Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf
  • Breeders’ Cup Juvenile
  • Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies
  • Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf
  • Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf
  • Breeders’ Cup Mile
  • Breeders’ Cup Sprint
  • Breeders’ Cup Turf
  • Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint
  • Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf Sprint

The Breeders’ Cup Classic is the most prestigious race of the event, and it is open to 3-year-olds and up. The race is 1 1/4 miles long, and it is run on dirt. The winner of the Breeders’ Cup Classic is considered to be the best horse in the world.

History of the Breeders’ Cup

The Breeders’ Cup was first held in 1984 at Hollywood Park in Inglewood, California. The event was created by John Gaines, the owner of Gainesway Farm, and it was originally intended to be a showcase for the best horses bred in North America. The first Breeders’ Cup was a success, and it has grown into one of the most popular horse racing events in the world.

Breeders’ Cup Winners
1984Wild AgainShug McGaughey
1985Proud TruthJohn Gosden
1986Lady’s SecretD. Wayne Lukas
1987AlyshebaJack Van Berg
1988Winning ColorsGary Jones

And that’s a wrap! We hope this stroll through the grandstand has given you a taste of the exhilarating world of horse racing. From the thunderous hooves of the Kentucky Derby to the elegance of Royal Ascot, each event holds its own unique charm and allure. Whether you’re a seasoned aficionado or a curious first-timer, we encourage you to delve further into this fascinating sport. And be sure to check back with us soon for more insider tips, thrilling races, and all the behind-the-scenes action that keeps us at the edge of our seats. Thanks for reading, and see you next time!