what horses are racing in the belmont

In the prestigious Belmont Stakes, thoroughbred horses compete in a grueling 1.5-mile race. These equine athletes, meticulously bred for speed and endurance, are carefully trained and prepared for this legendary event. The Belmont Stakes is the final leg of the Triple Crown, following the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, and showcases the culmination of a horse’s breeding, training, and unwavering spirit. As the horses thunder down the track, their hooves pounding the dirt, they push their limits to achieve the coveted title of Belmont champion.

2023 Belmont Stakes Eligible Horses

The 2023 Belmont Stakes is one of the most prestigious races in horse racing and is the third leg of the Triple Crown. The race will be held on Saturday, June 10th at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York.

The following horses are eligible to run in the 2023 Belmont Stakes:

  • Epicenter
  • Mo Donegal
  • Rich Strike
  • Zandon
  • Tawny Port
  • Creative Minister
  • Skippylongstocking
  • Barber Road
  • Nest
  • We the People

The field is expected to be competitive, with several horses having a chance to win. Epicenter is the morning-line favorite, but Mo Donegal, Rich Strike, and Zandon are all contenders.

The Belmont Stakes is a challenging race, and the horses that compete in it are some of the best in the world. The race is sure to be an exciting one, and it will be interesting to see who comes out on top.

EpicenterSteve AsmussenJoel Rosario
Mo DonegalTodd PletcherIrad Ortiz Jr.
Rich StrikeEric ReedSonny Leon
ZandonChad BrownFlavien Prat

Three-Year-Old Thoroughbreds in Contention

The Belmont Stakes is the third and final leg of the prestigious Triple Crown, and it is open to three-year-old Thoroughbreds. This year’s race is set to take place on June 10th at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York. Several top contenders are expected to compete, including:

  • Mo Donegal: Won the Wood Memorial Stakes and placed second in the Kentucky Derby.
  • Nest: Won the Ashland Stakes and placed second in the Kentucky Oaks.
  • Creative Minister: Won the Preakness Stakes and placed fifth in the Kentucky Derby.
  • Rich Strike: Won the Kentucky Derby after a stunning upset.
  • We the People: Won the Peter Pan Stakes and placed third in the Kentucky Derby.

Other notable contenders include Barber Road, Skippylongstocking, Golden Glider, and Tiz the Bomb. The Belmont Stakes is known for its challenging 1 1/2-mile distance, and it will be interesting to see which horse has what it takes to cross the finish line first.

Mo DonegalTodd PletcherIrad Ortiz Jr.3-1
NestTodd PletcherJose Ortiz5-2
Creative MinisterKenny McPeekBrian Hernandez Jr.9-2
Rich StrikeEric ReedSonny Leon10-1
We the PeopleRodolphe BrissetFlavien Prat12-1

Horses Competing in the 153rd Belmont Stakes

The Belmont Stakes, the final leg of the Triple Crown, is scheduled to take place on Saturday, June 10, 2023, at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York. The race has attracted a field of 10 horses, including several contenders who have shown promise in previous races.

Horses and Jockeys:

  • Mo Donegal (Irad Ortiz, Jr.)
  • Skippylongstocking (Luis Saez)
  • We the People (Flavien Prat)
  • Rich Strike (Sonny Leon)
  • Creative Minister (Joel Rosario)
  • Nest (Jose Ortiz)
  • Golden Glider (John Velazquez)
  • Barber Road (Jose Lezcano)
  • Venus de Milo (Ricardo Santana, Jr.)
  • Tiz the Bomb (Manny Franco)

Race Details:

Distance:1 1/2 miles (12 furlongs)
Post Time:5:44 PM ET

The Belmont Stakes is the longest and most demanding of the Triple Crown races, and it will test the stamina and determination of the horses involved. The race is expected to be closely contested, and any of the top contenders could emerge victorious.

## What are in the Belmont?

The Belmont Stakes is the third and final leg of the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing in the United States. It is held annually at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York, on the first Saturday in June.

### Road to the Belmont

The Belmont Stakes is open to three-year-old Thoroughbred horses who have competed in the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes. The winner of the Belmont Stakes is awarded the Triple Crown Trophy, which is one of the most prestigious awards in horse racing.

**Here are some of the past winners of the Belmont Stakes:**

| Year | Winner | Jockey | Trainer | Time |
| 2018 | Justify | Mike Smith | Bob Baffert | 2:28.18 |
| 2017 | Tapwrit | Jose Ortiz | Todd Pletcher | 2:26.59 |
| 2016 | Creator | Irad Ortiz Jr. | Steve Asmussen | 2:34.90 |
| 2015 | American Pharoah | Victor Espinoza | Bob Baffert | 2:26.65 |
| 2014 | Tonalist | Joel Rosario | Christophe Clement | 2:26.03 |
Well, folks, that’s a wrap for our quick rundown of the magnificent horses vying for glory at the Belmont. We hope you enjoyed this little horsing around as much as we did. Whether your favorite thoroughbred crossed the finish line first or not, we’re sure they all gave it their all. Keep an eye out for more updates and exciting news from the Belmont Stakes. Until next time, thanks for reading, and remember, the track is always open for your virtual visits!