when was the last triple crown winner in horse racing

The last horse to capture the prestigious Triple Crown in horse racing was Justify in 2018. The Triple Crown consists of three races: the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes. Justify’s victories in these three races made him the 13th horse to achieve this rare feat. He is owned by China Horse Club International, Head of Plains Partners, and WinStar Farm, and was trained by Bob Baffert. Justify’s success on the racetrack not only cemented his place in racing history but also brought immense joy to horse racing enthusiasts worldwide.

Justify’s Historic Triumph: The Last Triple Crown Winner in Horse Racing

In the annals of horse racing, Justify’s Triple Crown victory in 2018 stands as a legendary and historic achievement. He became the 13th horse to capture the coveted trifecta of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes, following a 37-year Triple Crown drought.

Unstoppable Force: Justify’s Dominant Run

  • Justify entered the Kentucky Derby as the heavy favorite and lived up to expectations, winning by a remarkable two-and-a-half lengths.
  • Two weeks later, he faced a valiant challenge from Good Magic in the Preakness Stakes but prevailed by a narrow margin of a half-length.
  • The crowning moment came at the Belmont Stakes, where Justify displayed his unmatched stamina and power to triumph by a jaw-dropping six-and-a-half lengths.

Key Factors Behind Justify’s Success

  1. Exceptional Breeding: Justify was sired by Scat Daddy, a renowned sprint champion, and out of Stage Magic, a Grade 1-winning daughter of Ghostzapper.
  2. Top-Notch Training: Co-trained by Hall of Famer Bob Baffert and his son, John, Justify received world-class training and conditioning.
  3. Intense Focus and Preparation: Justify’s connections meticulously planned his Triple Crown campaign, ensuring he had ample rest between races and was at his peak for each challenge.
  4. Historical Significance

    Justify’s Triple Crown victory not only solidified his legacy as a racing legend but also reinvigorated the sport and captured the attention of millions of fans worldwide.

    The following table summarizes the last five Triple Crown winners:

    1978AffirmedLaffit Pincay Jr.Laz Barrera
    1977Seattle SlewJean CruguetWilliam H. Turner Jr.
    1973SecretariatRon TurcotteLucien Laurin
    1948CitationEddie ArcaroBen Jones
    2018JustifyMike SmithBob Baffert

    Triple Crown Legend Restored

    Before Justify’s historic victory in 2018, the Triple Crown had eluded horse racing for a remarkable 37 years. The last horse to achieve the coveted title was:

    Affirmed (1978)

    • Kentucky Derby (May 6)
    • Preakness Stakes (May 20)
    • Belmont Stakes (June 10)

    Affirmed’s triumph marked the 11th Triple Crown win in horse racing history. Following his victory, the title remained unclaimed for nearly four decades.

    YearHorseTriple Crown Races
    1978AffirmedKentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, Belmont Stakes
    2015American PharoahKentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, Belmont Stakes
    2018JustifyKentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, Belmont Stakes

    The Triple Crown remains one of the most prestigious and elusive feats in all of sports. Justify’s victory in 2018 breathed new life into the legend, rekindling the excitement and anticipation for future Triple Crown contenders.

    The Last Triple Crown Winner in Horse Racing

    Justify became the 13th Triple Crown winner in horse racing history in 2018, capturing the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes. Owned by China Horse Club, Head of Plains Partners, WinStar Farm, and Starlight Racing, and trained by Hall of Famer Bob Baffert, Justify is the 2nd undefeated Triple Crown winner, joining Seattle Slew in 1977.

    Patience Pays Off for Connections

    The connections of Justify showed tremendous patience in their handling of the colt. In 2017, Justify suffered a minor ankle injury and was given ample time to recover. As a result, he only raced twice as a 2-year-old.

    This patience paid off in 2018, as Justify emerged as a dominant force on the racetrack. He won all six of his starts, culminating in his Triple Crown triumph.

    “>2 lengths

    RaceDateMargin of Victory
    Santa Anita DerbyApril 7, 20183 lengths
    Kentucky DerbyMay 5, 20182 1/2 lengths
    Preakness StakesMay 19, 20181/2 length
    Belmont StakesJune 9, 2018

    ## When Was the Last Triple Crown Winner in Horse Racing?

    ### A Dynasty Revived

    On June 9, 2018, Justify became the 13th horse to win the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing, a rare feat that involves winning the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes.

    – **Justify’s Record:**
    – Kentucky Derby: 2:48.33
    – Preakness Stakes: 1:55.20
    – Belmont Stakes: 2:28.18

    Justify’s victory marked a resurgence of the Triple Crown, which had not been won since Affirmed in 1978. His historic achievement further cemented the legacy of his legendary trainer, Bob Baffert.

    ### Historical Context

    The Triple Crown is considered the holy grail of horse racing, and only a handful of thoroughbreds have managed to conquer it. Here’s a timeline of past Triple Crown winners:

    | Year | Horse | Owner | Trainer |
    | 1919 | Sir Barton | John E. Madden | R. Thomas |
    | 1930 | Gallant Fox | William duPont Jr. | Jim Rowe |
    | 1935 | Omaha | Helen K. Woolworth | Billy Duke |
    | 1941 | Whirlaway | Calumet Farm | Ben Jones |
    | 1946 | Assault | C. V. Whitney | Max Hirsch |
    | 1948 | Citation | Calumet Farm | Ben Jones |
    | 1959 | Tom Rolfe | John D. Hertz | Frank Whiteley |
    | 1973 | Secretariat | Penny Chenery | Lucien Laurin |
    | 1978 | Affirmed | Louis Wolfson | Laz Barrera |
    | 2018 | Justify | China Horse Club | Bob Baffert |

    ### Significance of the Triple Crown

    Winning the Triple Crown requires exceptional talent, consistency, and endurance from both the horse and its connections. It is a testament to the extraordinary nature of the sport of horse racing that such a rare and prestigious feat continues to captivate audiences worldwide.
    And there you have it, folks! The last Triple Crown winner was Justify in 2018, and we eagerly await the next horse to achieve this historic feat. Remember, horse racing is a game of luck and skill, and anything can happen on any given day. Thanks for joining me on this journey through horse racing history. If you enjoyed this article, be sure to visit us again soon for more exciting horse racing content and insights.